“I know what to do now” – the power of being in the flow

Yesterday I spoke with a friend who was trying to decide when to retire. He had a bunch of conflicting feelings and was deadlocked within himself about what to do.

We discussed it for a while. When the conversation switched to what I was doing, I told him about the questions I had been working with (see March 28 post – “The Power of Inquiry”). The questions are for dealing with things that are bothering us – things we find upsetting, that bug us, etc.

To better explain what I was doing, I asked if he would like to try the process. He agreed and we chose something he had seen the day before which he thought was just awful. “How could someone do something like that!”

We started with The Work questions and Turnarounds and then moved into the “That’s Better” process. It went quite well and the event which had been a source of anger became instead, something which brought him an empowering gift.

As we rejoiced in this new perspective I saw a chance to get some extra benefit from his being-in-the-flow state. I suggested he listen to whatever popped up in his mind when I asked a question.

“What would be the best thing to do about retiring?”

He immediately got a clear answer which felt right, and was sensible, too. Hurray!

When we are in the flow of well being the clarity of what to do comes so much more easily.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “I know what to do now” – the power of being in the flow

  1. carole says:

    Fascinating insight- Thanks!

  2. Mary Elizabeth says:

    This is so inspirational, so true…just what the doctor ordered! I can’t wait to read more!

Leave a Reply

